Why You Should Convert Your Profile to a Fan Page
If you are using your personal Profile for business, then you may want to read this or risk losing access to your Profile and all your content PERMANENTLY!
Did you know using your Facebook Profile (Timeline) for your business is a violation of Facebook’s statement of rights and responsibilities and you could end up losing access to your Profile and all the content?
Text taken from Facebook’s help center:
“Since Profiles (timelines) are meant for individual people, they aren’t suited to meet your business needs. Pages offer more robust features for organizations, businesses, brands and public figures. Further, maintaining a Profile (timeline) for anything other than an individual person is a violation of Facebook’s Statement of Rights and Responsibilities.
If you don’t convert your Profile (timeline) to a Page, you risk permanently losing access to the Profile (timeline) and all of your content.”
The difference between a business account and a Profile is, business accounts are designed for people who only want to use Facebook to administer Pages and run ad campaigns. For this reason, business accounts do not have the same features as personal accounts. Business accounts have limited access to information on Facebook-when using a business account, you can view all the Pages and Social Ads you own, but you will not be able to view Profiles or content owned by other people. The owner of the account will not be able to send or receive friend requests.
Luckily, you have the option to convert your Profile to a fan page, but what happens to all your photos, friends and posts you may ask? Well, when you convert your Profile to a fan page, some of your content will automatically be transferred for you. All your confirmed friends and subscribers will be converted to people who like your new fan page. Also, your Profile pictures will be migrated to your new fan page.
However, the rest of your content i.e., photo albums, profile information, etc. will not be transferred. Make sure you save all your important content before beginning your migration.
So, now you need to know how to convert your Profile to a fan page right? If you click here, you can start the process to convert your Profile to a fan page.
Remember, when you convert your Profile to a Facebook fan page, Facebook will transfer your Profile pictures and add all of your friends and subscribers as people who like your page. But, no other content will be carried over to your new fan page, so make sure you save all your important content before beginning your migration.
You can avoid losing important content by down loading your profile information. You can download a file that contains all of your sent and received messages and all of the photos and videos you’ve uploaded to Facebook. You need to do this BEFORE converting your Profile to a fan page.
Also, if you are an admin for any groups, you will lose those admin rights during the conversion process, so you may want to appoint a new group admin.
After the conversion you will still be able to log in from your original e-mail address and password.